« iepriekšējāTurpināt »
The Department of the Interior was established by the act of March 3, 1849 (9 Stat L. 395).
GENERAL LAND OFFICE.—Organized as a bureau of the Treasury Department under act of April 25, 1812 (2 Stat. L. 716). First commissioner, Edward Tiffin, of Ohio; appointed May 7, 1812. Became a bureau of the Interior Department when that department was organized under the act of March 3, 1849 (9 Stat. L. 395).
INDIAN OFFICE.--Organized as a bureau of the War Department under the act of July 9, 1832 (4 Stat. L. 564). First commissioner, Elbert Herring, of New York; appointed July 10, 1832. Became a bureau of the Interior Department under the act of March 3, 1849 (9 Stat. L. 395).
BUREAU OF PENSIONS.—Organized as a bureau of the War Department under act of March 2, 1833 (4 Stat. L. 622). First commissioner, James L. Edwards, of Virginia ; appointed March 3, 1833. Became a bureau of the Interior Department under the act of March 3, 1849 (9 Stat. L. 395).
PATENT OFFICE.-Organized as a bureau of the State Department under act of March 4, 1836 (5 Stat. L. 117). First commissioner, Henry S. Ellsworth, of Connecticut; appointed July 4, 1836. Became a bureau of the Interior Department under the act of March 3, 1849 (9 Stat. L. 395).
BUREAU OF EDUCATION.—Established as a department under act of March 2, 1867 (14 Stat. L. 434). Ceased to exist as a department and became a bureau of the Interior Department July 1, 1869, under act of July 20, 1868 (15 Stat. L. 106). First commissioner, Henry Barnard, of Connecticut; appointed March 14, 1867.
GEOLOGICAL SURVEY.-Organized as a bureau of the Interior Department under act of March 3, 1879 (20 Stat. L. 394). First director, Clarence King, of New York; appointed April 14, 1879.
RECLAMATION SERVICE (NOW BUREAU OF RECLAMATION).-Organized under act of June 17, 1902 (32 Stat. L. 388), under the Director of the Geological Survey, Charles D. Walcott. First director, F. H. Newell, of Pennsylvania ; appointed March 9, 1907. Designation changed to Bureau of Reclamation June 20, 1923. First commissioner of reclamation, David W. Davis, of Idaho; appointed June 20, 1923.
BUREAU OF MINES. Orgasized as a bureau of the Interior Department under act of May 16, 1910 (36 Stat. L. 369). First director, Joseph A. Holmes, of North Carolina ; appointed September 3, 1910.
NATIONAL PARK SERVICE.-Organized as a bureau of the Interior Department under act of August 25, 1916 (39 Stat. L. 535). First director, Stephen T. Mather, of Illinois; appointed May 16, 1917.
ALASKAN ENGINEERING COMMISSION (NOW THE ALASKA RAILROAD).-Established by presidential appointment under authority of the act of March 12, 1914 (38 Stat. L. 305). Placed under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of the Interior by Executive orders dated April 10, 1915, and June 8, 1923. First chairman and chief engineer, William C. Edes, of California ; appointed May 1, 1914. Designation of Alaskan Engineering Commission changed to The Alaska Railroad August 15, 1923.
Purice Library 5., 7-32
DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
Secretary of the Interior..
Hubert Work. First Assistant Secretary
Edward C. Finney. Assistant Secretary----
Francis M. Goodwin. Administrative assistant
Ebert K. Burlew. Executive assistant to the Secretary-
Wm. J. Donald. Executive assistant to the Secretary
John H. McNeely. Chief inspector
Joseph F. Gartland. Chief clerk of the department.
John Harvey. Solicitor.-
John H. Edwards. Senior attorney-
C. Edward Wright. Board of Appeals, member of..
George B. Gardner. Board of Appeals, member of..
W. B. Newman. Board of Appeals, member of.
A. W. Patterson. Commissioner of the General Land Office
William Spry. Assistant Commissioner.
George R. Wickham. Commissioner of Indian Affairs_
Charles H. Burke. Assistant Commissioner-
Edgar B. Meritt. Commissioner of Pensions
Washington Gardner. Ieputy Commissioner--
Hays Haymaker. Commissioner of Patents.
Thos. E. Robertson. First Assistant Commissioner.
Wm. A. Kinnan. Assistant Commissioner--
Karl Fenning. commissioner of Education.
John J. Tigert. Director of the Geological Survey-
George Otis Smith, Commissioner of Reclamation --
Elwood Mead. Director of Finance, Reclamation Bureau
David W. Davis. Director of Farm Economics, Reclamation Bureau-- Geo. C. Kreutzer. Acting Chief Engineer, Reclamation Bureau.. Raymond F. Walter. Director of the Bureau of Mines.
H. Foster Bain. Assistant Director of Bureau of Mines
Dorsey A. Lyon. Director of the National Park Service--
Stephen T. Mather. Assistant Director of the National Park Service---. Arno B. Cammerer. Governor of Alaska--
Scott C. Bone. Gorernor of Hawaii.
Wallace R. Farrington. Superintendent of St. Elizabeths Hospital ---- Dr. William A. White. President of Howard University--
Dr. J. Stanley Durkee. Surgeon in chief of Freedmen's Hospital.
Dr. William A. Warfield. President of Columbia Institution for the Deaf ---- Dr. Percival Hall.